Mercury Prize 2018 shortlist announced

The Mercury Prize shortlist has been announced, with Arctic Monkeys, Lily Allen and Everything Everything among those in the running to have their most recent musical efforts declared the best British album of the last year.

Over 200 of your new British and Irish LPs were submitted for consideration this year, which have now been whittled down to a final 12. The judging panel tasked with making that damn shortlist – and then cutting it down further to just one winner – consists of broadcasters Clara Amfo, Danielle Perry and MistaJam, along with Radio 2 and 6 Music Head Of Music Jeff Smith and Radio X Head Of Music Mike Walsh. There’s also journalists Harriet Gibsone, Phil Alexander and Will Hodgkinson, and musicians Ella Eyre, Jamie Cullum, Lianne La Havas and Marcus Mumford.

This year’s ceremony is set to take place at the Hammersmith Apollo in London on 20th September.

The full shortlist is:

Arctic Monkeys – Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino

Everything Everything – A Fever Dream

Everything Is Recorded – Everything Is Recorded

Florence And The Machine – High As Hope

Jorja Smith – Lost & Found

King Krule – The Ooz

Lily Allen – No Shame

Nadine Shah – Holiday Destination

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – Who Built The Moon?

Novelist – Novelist Guy

Sons Of Kemet – Your Queen Is A Reptile

Wolf Alice – Visions Of A Life