Immersion announce new album and Brighton date

ImmersionBrighton-based duo Immersion, made up of Wire frontman Colin Newman and Minimal Compact’s Malka Spigel, have announced their new album Sleepless, which is set for release 15th June. The first single ‘Microclimate’ can be heard here:

Although the influence of German krautrock pioneers like Tangerine Dream and Popal Vuh is still detectable, Immersion have evolved their own far more personal sound. Their amalgam of fascinating textures, warmly percolating analogue synths, and limpid melodies gives their compositions an irresistible appeal. They’ve now added guitar, drums and bass, with a guest appearance form Holy Fuck’s Matt Schulz, and a collaboration with Gil Luz and Assi Weitz of Hexenschuss.

Immersion will be performing at their own curated night, Nanocluster 4, Rosehill Tavern, 8th June, along with Ulrich Schnauss.